20 Oct 2017

Webinar: Reconsidering Primary Prevention of HIV: New Steps Forward in the Global Response

Registration link –>  https://tinyurl.com/yd7j6yhg

 

ICW, INPUD, IRGT, GATE, GNP+, MSMGF, the Platform and NSWP invite you for a timely discussion about a new phase in the evolution of the HIV response—one that reinvigorates existing HIV prevention interventions with the powerful effectiveness of community action.

Gay men and other men who have sex with
men, people who inject drugs, sex workers,
and transgender people disproportionately
bear the burden of all new HIV infections due
to the silence, denial, negativity, and moralism
surrounding sex and drug use. In order for
primary prevention to work, policy makers and
donors, including governments, must shed their
reluctance to openly and positively address sex
and drug use in their public health discourse
and responses to HIV. Further, bio-medicalized
interventions need to evolve and be strategically
combined with other interventions and delivered
by communities for which they are intended.

Speakers will give a debrief on some of the
highlights from the inaugural Global Prevention
Coalition meeting that took place earlier this
month and will lead a discussion on what principles
and strategies are necessary to reshape a new
conversation about HIV prevention.

Date: Monday, October 30th 2017
Time: New York 10:00/ Amsterdam 16:00/
Nairobi 17:00/ Bangkok 21:00

Registration link –>  https://tinyurl.com/yd7j6yhg

Download the report on Primary Prevention, led by MSMGF, and Sign the Call to Action!

Share this